Snapchat is an American multimedia messaging app developed by Snap Inc., originally Snapchat Inc. One of the principal features of Snapchat is that pictures and messages are usually only available for a short time before they become inaccessible to their recipients. The app has evolved from originally focusing on person-to-person photo sharing to presently featuring users’ “Stories” of 24 hours of chronological content, along with “Discover,” letting brands show ad-supported short-form content. It also allows users to keep photos in the “my eyes only” which lets them keep their photos in a password-protected space. So let us see how can you delete Snapchat account permanently! Also how you can deactivate Snapchat account as well as reactivate Snapchat account!
Whether you’re deleting Snapchat in favor of Instagram Stories, because you hate the Snap Map feature, or simply because you don’t like it, it only takes a few minutes to delete or deactivate your account.
Deleting your Snapchat account requires logging into the desktop version of the social media platform.
Your Snapchat account won’t be deleted right away – once you complete all the steps, it will be deactivated for 30 days. During that time, you’ll be able to reactivate your account. After that, it will be permanently deleted.
Method 1-How to deactivate your Snapchat account?
- Go to https://support.snapchat.com/delete-account in any web browser. You can even use Safari on your iPhone or iPad.
- Enter your Snapchat username and password.
- Check the box confirming you aren’t a robot.
- Click on Submit.
- Re-enter your username and password on the next page.
- Click on Continue.
And yes its done! Your Snapchat account will be deactivated.
What after deactivating?
Your friends will no longer be able to send you snaps, and you won’t be able to log in to Snapchat without reactivating your account. You’ll also receive an email to your contact address confirming the deactivation, as well as instructions on how to reactivate your Snapchat account within 30 days of deactivation.
Method – 2 How to delete your Snapchat account (method 2)
- Open your browser and go to Snapchat.com.
- Scroll down and select “Support”, under the “Company” section.
- Select “Learning the basics”.
- Then Select “Account Settings”.
- Select “Delete an Account”.
- Follow the same steps as method 1.
How to reactivate your Snapchat account
If you’ve had second thoughts about deleting your Snapchat presence, you can reactivate your account in a jiffy.
- Open Snapchat on your iPhone or iPad.
- Tap Log In.
- Log in with your old Snapchat username and password.
- Tap Yes when Snapchat asks if you’d like to reactivate your account.
- Tap OK.
- Snapchat will send you an email when your account has been reactivated. When it has been, Log In to the Snapchat app.
Permanently Deleting Snapchat
There’s a difference between deactivating your account for sometime and deleting the account permanently. You need to :
- Follow the deactivation steps, then wait 30 days.
- After this period of 30 days, your account will be filed as permanently deleted and you’ll no longer be able to recover it. Just remember that once this happens, there’s no going back.
What do friends see when you delete Snapchat?
As long as you actually delete the account, and not just the app, the account should no longer show up on your friends‘ snapchat contact list and they will not be able to send snapchats to it.
Can you tell if someone deleted their Snapchat?
on the snap status below the person’s username on the Chat screen. If it reads “Pending…” and never shows delivered, or if the arrow next to their username appears gray, the user may have deleted you from their friend list.
Does Snapchat delete inactive accounts?
Presumably, if your account remains inactive for a long period of time, Snapchat will delete the account. … Nonetheless, if you expect that no one will try to access your account, you can do nothing and sooner or later Snapchat will probably deactivate your account and delete any information associated with it.
Can you disable Snapchat?
Snapchat, like every other social media application, has very specific, intrinsic, account, and privacy settings that assist in various user requirements. One of its components is the ‘disable’ feature too. So, technically, yes, you can disable your Snapchat account. However, it is not as straightforward, and it comes with a limited time period.
What is the difference between deleting and disabling an account?
Deleting an account is the act of permanently closing your account. Whereas, disabling an account implies, to eliminate it from visibility until the account is revived by its user. Every Social media platform stipulates a certain time frame during which the account can be revived. During this period, the user’s connections will not be able to view the user’s profile.
However, there is no separate option called ‘disable’ or ‘deactivate’ available on Snapchat. In fact, you use the delete option to disable your account, but only after 30 days have elapsed, is your account truly deleted — thus, it’s disabled for a period of 30 days, maximum.
How to disable your Snapchat account
In order to disable your Snapchat account, you will have to log in to your account through its web portal. Snapchat doesn’t provide the disable option on the mobile app. Go to the Snapchat web portal and enter your login details.
Once you are signed in, you will be directed to the ‘Manage my account’ page, where you will find various account setting options. Scroll down, until you find the ‘Delete my account’ tab. Select that option.
After you select the ‘Delete my account’ option, you will be redirected to a page, where you will have to provide your username and password again, to confirm your decision.
What happens when you disable/delete your Snapchat account?
When you select the ‘Delete my account’ option, your account will be invisible to your connections. Your stories, memories, chats, snaps, and profile will not be visible to your friends on the app, or to anybody that wants to add you on their profile.
Is your data deleted?
Well, while the account is under the 30-day grace period, nothing is deleted. But once the account is permanently deleted, your account, its settings, Snaps, friends, Story, Chats, device data, and location data will be removed from Snapchat’s main servers.
However, Snapchat may still keep some data about you. What data they will keep isn’t disclosed but they keep the data they need to meet “certain legal, security, and business needs.” For example, any purchases made by you through them — to keep a record of sales and such, we presume.
Can you reactivate your disabled Snapchat account?
Snapchat, unlike Facebook and Instagram, doesn’t have the ‘deactivate’ and ‘delete’ alternatives, where users can choose between temporarily and permanently removing their accounts. But, Snapchat gives you the option of reviving your account, within 30 days of deleting it. After the 30-day time frame, you will permanently lose your account and will have to create a new one.
How to extend the 30 day period limit
Well, there is no official way to do this. But you can activate it again within the 30 days and then delete the account right away to disable/deactivate it again for another 30 days. There appears to be no limit on how many times you can delete your account to put it under the grace period.
Snapchat has come a long way since its launch in 2012, but it isn’t for everyone. If you’ve had enough of the app’s impermanence and want to switch to something a little more lasting, deleting and deactivating your Snapchat account isn’t difficult to do.
If you have any query, feel free to contact us. Comment in the box, we are here to help you! Like, share and subscribe. Regards!