WhatsApp has started a new feature of disappearing messages for extra privacy. So, you can send someone a message that will disappear after a set period. If you want to enable this on your account, here is everything you need to know about WhatsApp disappearing messages.
You can increase your privacy by using the optional setting for disappearing messages. You can arrange messages to vanish 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days after they are sent when you enable disappearing messages. Then, you can decide whether to enable disappearing messages for all of your chats or just a few of them. This change won’t affect the previous chat messages you sent or received. Either user in a chat can enable or disable vanishing messages. Any group chat participant can enable or disable vanishing messages. However, a group admin can modify the group settings to limit who can enable or disable disappearing messages to other admins.
The message will vanish from the chat if the user doesn’t open WhatsApp during the 24-hour, 7-day, or 90-day time frame. Even after WhatsApp is opened, the message preview could still be shown in notifications. If you respond to a message that will disappear, the quoted content can still be visible in the conversation after the period you choose. A message won’t vanish in the forwarded conversation if it is forwarded to another chat where vanishing messages are disabled. However, only share vanishing messages with people you can trust.
Any media downloaded over WhatsApp will be saved to your pictures. Media sent in the conversation will vanish if disappearing messages are enabled. However, if auto-download is enabled, the media will be saved on the phone. You can disable auto-downloading by going to the WhatsApp Settings and Storage and Data.
In a private chat, you can turn on disappearing messages. Once activated, new chat messages will vanish after the period you choose. Here is how you can enable this feature on your Android:
Here is how you can enable disappear messages on your iPhone:
If you don’t find the disappearing messages option, you can update WhatsApp, then recheck the options on the menu. When you return to the chat window, you will see a warning that new messages will self-destruct after the set amount of time. Conversations will still have messages delivered before disabling disappearing messages. If you enable Disappearing Messages, WhatsApp will also let the other person in the chat know.
If you no longer want to keep the disappearing messages system, it can be turned off at any moment by either user. New chat messages won’t vanish after they’ve been disabled. Here is how you can turn off the feature:
Every member of a WhatsApp group can enable and disable Disappearing Messages. You can open the group info page, tap Disappearing Messages, and choose your options. However, non-administrative group members cannot modify the Disappearing Messages settings. For this, you can go to the group details page. You can select Only Admins under Edit Group Info under Group Settings and then press Save.
All group members automatically have the option to allow or disable Disappearing messages. To enable disappearing messages in a WhatsApp group, you must go to the Group Info page. There you can select the option to turn on the Disappearing Messages. After that, you will have to choose a time limit, after which the messages disappear. Every time this setting is altered, all group members will be notified.
No, the messages will not disappear from everywhere. Even after you turn on the feature, messages that were deleted automatically could still be viewable in the notification panel if you haven’t accessed them. If a message is quoted before it is deleted, the original message may still be partially or evident in the cited text. However, if you forward the disappearing message to someone else, it won’t get deleted. This is only if the conversation doesn’t have this feature on.
Both Android and iOS users can use the WhatsApp Disappearing Messages feature. If you can’t find the option to enable this feature, you need to update the most recent version of WhatsApp. The new feature is supported by all phones that support WhatsApp.
Your backup will contain the vanished message if it is made before the message vanishes. However, when you restore messages from a backup, the disappearing messages will be removed.
The new WhatsApp Disappearing Messages feature will affect messages sent after the setting was enabled. As a result, neither chats sent before the functionality was enabled nor those sent after it was disabled are affected. These texts won’t be immediately deleted.
If you want to add additional privacy to your messages, WhatsApp now has a new function that can help you. You can select a default timer for all messages in a conversation. This will cause them to expire 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days after being delivered. All you have to do is to go to the contact info for which you want to enable the disappearing messages. There you can turn on or off this feature according to your liking. You can enable this feature in both personal and group chats. However, be aware of the people you send your personal information to, as someone can still get around this feature. They can take screenshots or photos of the discussion on another device.
What are your thoughts about this new feature by Whatsapp? Tell us in the comments section below.
In today's gaming business, the majority of gaming headphones are wireless. Because they are wireless,…
Which is a better laptop for you: the Dell XPS 13 Plus or the MacBook…
Nothing company introduced new blasting earbuds that offer good performance at an attractive price. It…